New Zealand is undoubtedly a country which loves horses, and a lot of horse breeds are reared here. New Zealand has two primary forms of horse racing, which are the standardbred and thoroughbred. Each type of race has several horse breeds which are great at performing tasks in that race.

Some of the famous horses in the thoroughbred races include Phar Lap, Carbine, Sunline, Nightmarch, Rising fast, Grey Way, Tulloch, II Tempo and Desert Gold. Thoroughbred races are the most common in New Zealand. Here are some of the tremendous thoroughbred racing events held in the country.

Auckland Cup

Horse riders in this competition, race over a distance of two miles. The horse riders are lucky to compete on a flat turf. This race is organised by Auckland Racing Club and is open to only thoroughbred horses. The winner of this race receives a prize of 500000 New Zealand dollars. This is high-level competition and has a group one grading. Only horses of three years and above are allowed to participate in the contest. The race takes place every year in March.

Karaka Million

This is a very popular race in New Zealand. The competition takes place at the Ellerslie Racecourse. This is the richest horse race in New Zealand. The winning horse gets a cash prize of 1000000 New Zealand dollars. This race only allows two-year-old horses to take part. It was first held in 2008. Horses above the age of two years are allowed to take part in another Karaka Million competition which is designated for three-year-old horses.

New Zealand Stakes

This is a group one horse racing competition. It is also a thoroughbred event. It is held annually in March at the Ellerslie Racecourse. The winning horse walks away with a total of 200000 New Zealand dollars.